Saturday, 31 January 2015

REEDS AND EVENING

Row of reeds in the gold of evening against a pale blue sky.

Bent in a light wind.

Friday, 30 January 2015

PORTLAND PORT AND MARINA AT LOW TIDE - (DORSET)

Ship and boats and ramp and Mulberry Harbours at low tide on a winter's afternoon.

Ramp, ship and boat crane.

Thursday, 29 January 2015

PEBBLES COME IN STYLES TO SUIT ALL AGES

Pebbles on the Ham - the harbour side of the causeway between Weymouth and Portland in Dorset

With brick thrown in.

Wednesday, 28 January 2015

PATH THROUGH REEDS

Concrete pole with broken wire and gap in reeds where path is.

Concrete pole.

Tuesday, 27 January 2015

BLOB

Round tree and brown reeds.

Tree and reeds.

Monday, 26 January 2015

ANOTHER FROSTED LEAF

Growing leaf felled by frost.

Frost and veins.
Do you think this might be a Hogweed plant coming up? Or . . . . ?

This week's post on my other blog, Loose and Leafy is

Sunday, 25 January 2015

COLD DRINK

White, orange and yellow frosted drinks can lying in frosted grass.

With frost.
 

Saturday, 24 January 2015

ALEXANDERS' RUST AND FROST

Puccinia smyrnii (Alexanders' Rust) and frost.

Puccinia smyrnii (Alexanders' Rust) on Alexanders' (Smyrnium olusatrum) leaves.

More about Alexanders on my other blog, Loose and Leafy

Friday, 23 January 2015

EVERYONE LIKES A GOOD BENCH

Public Bench with morning sunlight beyond with frosty grass and wild plants

Looking into morning.

Sunday, 18 January 2015

PIGEON

Collared Dove on a telegraph pole with sea and sky behind.

Wonky pole.

Saturday, 17 January 2015

RED SEAWEED ON GREEN

One small piece of feathery red seaweed on a green-seaweed covered rock.

On a rock.
Dorset

Friday, 16 January 2015

SEAWEED ON SAND WITH ROCK SHADOW

Small scrap of dark seaweed on sand in retreating tide.

Dorset

Thursday, 15 January 2015

BERRIES IN A TERRACTOTTA POT

Cotoneaster Berries and Shards in a terracotta pot

Cotoneaster.

This picture is from a post on my other blog, Loose and Leafy.

Wednesday, 14 January 2015

CHECKING THE PLANT IS STILL THERE

Plant growing on top of brick wall

Yes. Still there.
2014
17th December
2nd November

Monday, 12 January 2015

COKE CAN

Empty coke can and short alexanders after rain.

With Alexanders after rain.

Saturday, 10 January 2015

IT'S THAT BUOY AGAIN

Red buoy in Portland Harbour, Dorset, with two ships and harbour wall beyond.

With Ships.

Friday, 9 January 2015

ASH

Top branches of ash tree in winter.

Click to see next year's buds - ready and waiting.

Thursday, 8 January 2015

BROKEN TREE

Broken branch, peeled back bark and scars on small tree (hawthorn?) in winter

Hawthorn I think.
You might like to follow the progress of a tree for a year
with Loose and Leafy.

Wednesday, 7 January 2015

WOOD

Cross section of Monterey Pine - newly felled tree.

Monterey Pine.

For the January Tree Following Link Box on my other blog, Loose and Leafy.

Tuesday, 6 January 2015

PATH

Top of path up a bank with wild plants silhouetted against blue sky.

Brambles and the tail end of umbeliferous flowers.

Monday, 5 January 2015

CONDENSATION

The water in a bottle thrown away in grass shows condensation droplets after rain.

Bottle after rain.

Sunday, 4 January 2015

GORSE

Gorse flower - close up showing prickles and buds.
November 22nd 2014 - but gorse flowers all year round.
Flower and prickles.

Saturday, 3 January 2015

PLANT IN TARMAC

Very small, green plant with prickly leaves growing in crack in tarmac path.

Goosegrass? (Galium aparine)
You might also like to read yesterday's post on my other blog (Loose and Leafy).

Friday, 2 January 2015

BOAT COMING OVER

Top of boat seen over the top of sand / gravel bank at West Bay, Dorset

See also 'The Other Side of the Pebbles'.

Thursday, 1 January 2015

SHELL

Shell on sand.

And Happy New Year (of course!).